Top Lamorinda Teachers Meet At Annual Reception

County teachers of the year meet at Pleasant Hill reception. Four of the candidates are from Lamorinda.


Twenty one of the county's top teachers turned out for the annual Teachers of the Year reception recently in Pleasant Hill -- with four of the candidates for the 2012-13 Top Teacher award hailing from Lamorinda.

Lamorinda "TOYs" Kim Burris of the Orinda USD and a teacher at all five OUSD Schools; Mette Thallaug from the Lafayette SD, representing Burton Valley Elementary; Terryl Miller, Moraga SD, Los Perales Elementary; and Michael Buchel, Acalanes UHSD, teaching at Acalanes High, stopped long enough to pose for a quick picture.

Held at the Contra Costa County Office of Education, in Pleasant Hill, the annual Teacher of the Year event is for all the TOYs to meet each, learn more about the county program, and find out details about the upcoming TOY Dinner Celebration, held on the evening of September 20, at the Hilton Concord.

This year’s three Teacher of the Year finalists will be named later this week.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »