Oscar Nominee Burt Young to be honored at the 14th Annual California Independent Film Festival

 ,   Add to calendar
 Lamorinda  See map

The California Independent Film Festival (CAIFF) is celebrating its 14th Anniversary from Feb. 10th through Feb. 16th, 2012 in Moraga and Orinda, California. This year, CAIFF is honoring Oscar Nominee Burt Young with the “Lifetime Achievement Award” for his outstanding contribution to the film industry on Feb 11th, 2012 at the CAIFF Slate Awards Ceremony.

Burt Young is an actor, painter and author. He is best known as Sylvester Stallone's brother-in-law and friend Paulie in the Rocky film series, for which he received an Oscar nomination for Best Supporting Actor. He is one of the three actors (the other two being Stallone and Tony Burton) who have appeared in every Rocky film.

He has played similar roles in Chinatown, Convoy, Back To School, The Pope of Greenwich Village, Once Upon a Time in America, Last Exit to Brooklyn and even a brutal and darker role in Amityville II: The Possession. His recent independent films include New York, New York, Transamerica and Win Win.

On Feb 11th, 2012, The CAIFF Slate Awards, also known as “The Oscars of the East Bay Area, San Francisco”, will take place at the Rheem Theatre in Moraga, CA, commencing
with a VIP Reception at 6:00 PM. A special screening of Rocky will also be featured, and Mr. Young will make a special guest appearance to do a live Q&A with the audience at the end of the movie presentation.

The CAIFF Slate Awards Ceremony will be hosted by San Francisco Bay Area’s movie maven, film critic, and TV personality, Jan Wahl.

The VIP Reception is sponsored by “Cupcake Vineyards”- the “Official Wine” for the California Independent Film Festival.

“I'm honored to be included in this year's California Independent Film Festival.,” says 2012 CAIFF
Lifetime Achievement Honoree, Mr. Burt Young. Previous CAIFF Lifetime Achievement Award winners include such names as Richard Dreyfuss, Ed Asner, Martin Landau, Rita Moreno, Cloris Leachman and Tony Curtis, among others.

Derek Zemrak, President and Founder of CAIFF, remarks “We are thrilled to honor Oscar Nominee Burt Young with this year's Lifetime Achievement Award. His acting career has spanned three decades.”

For additional information on the 14th Annual California Independent Film Festival& Ticket info, visit the festival’s website (www.caiff.org) or the Lamorinda Theatres’ Box Offices (Orinda and Rheem). For enquiries, call 925.388.0752 or e-mail info@caiff.org.

The California Independent Film Festival Association is a non-profit 501(C)3 organization. The 14th annual festival is presented by The Lamorinda Weekly and sponsored by Senior Solutions, The Murdy Foundation, The Olsen Team, Diablo Magazine, ITB Design, Lamorinda Theatres, Ristorante Amoroma, Cupcake Vineyards and the Lafayette Park Hotel.



More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »